3 Schools Conferred with KUL Foundation Awards

The 15th year of KUL Foundation's student overall development program "Kesarimalji Jain Gunwatta Vikas Yojana" witnessed jubilation amidst its acclaimed philanthropic initiative. The foundation felicitated three schools from rural Maharashtra with the prestigious "Late Prof Shri. P D Puranik Aadarsh Shaala Puraskar" at the hands of Guest of Honour, Dr. Sadanand More, President, Akhil Bhartiya Marathi Sahitya Sammelan (ABMSS).

The "Gunwatta Vikas Yojana" was initiated in memory of Late Kesarimalji H. Oswal, Lalit Kumar Jain's father to take schools under its umbrella and ensure their development.

The foundation was initiated by Late Prof. Shri. P D Puranik along with his team; Late Prof. P. G. Vaidya and Late. Prof. Jayant Tribhuvan, all who worked towards making the project a huge success. KUL Foundation confers the awards namely "Late Prof. Shri. P D Puranik Adarsh Shala Award", "Late Prof. P. G. Vaidya Upakramshil Shikshak Award" and "Late Prof. Jayant Tribhuvan Satvashil Shikshak Award" in memory of its three founders, for outstanding and progressive contribution by schools and educators in the field of education.

Motivating the students on this occasion Dr. Sadanand More said, "There will be obstacles, doubts and mistakes but with hard work there are no limits. KUL Foundation over the years has done remarkably well in doing their bit for schools across the rural areas in Pune. Activities like these will only boost the morale of student, teachers and school at large."The Zilla Parishad primary schools which bagged the first, second and third prizes for "Late Prof P D Puranik Aadarsh Shaala Puraskar" were Wabalewadi Tal.Shirur, Dist.Pune; Jawlarjun Taluka Purandar, Dist.Pune; and Bhorwadi Taluka Junnar, Dist.Pune respectively. These schools were awarded cash prizes of Rs. 31,000, Rs. 21,000 and Rs. 11,000, respectively along with the trophies and certificates. The "Late Prof. Jayant Tribhuvan Satvashil Shikshak Puraskar" was awarded to Shri. Jagtap Shailaja Deepak, Principal, ChandrakantDarode Secondary School, Shivaji Nagar, Pune and "Late Prof. P. G. Vaidya Upakram Shikshak Puraskar" was awarded to Shri.Nimbalkar Nanasaheb Krishna, Principal, Vishnuji Shekuji Satav High School, Wagholi, Tal.Haveli, Pune. These awards are given to credit and encourage educators for their commendable work in education sector. Moreover the "Bahuaayami Sanstha Puraskar" was awarded to Bhor Education Society, Dist.Bhor, Pune.

Addressing the gathering, Ms Kruti Jain, said, "Education is not preparation for life, it is life itself. We, at KUL Foundation, believe that students shape the progressive future of nation.

Commemorating 15 years of KUL Foundation we have not only received acclaim for our initiative but countless blessings from the schools which are of utmost importance to us. We shall continue doing our bit for the society to the best of our capacity."

In all 68 nominations were received this year, with 43 for the "Aadarsh Shaala Puraskar" category, 14 for the "Upakramshil Shikshak Puraskar" and 11 for the "Satvashil Shikshak Puraskar" category.

The panel of jury included eminent personalities like; Dr. Pradip Agashe an eminent educationist, Shri.Prabhakar Kathale, Ex Extension Officer, Ex- Principal Shridhar Patankar of Tilak College; Mukund Shingade, Ex Extension Officer and Mr. Ulhas Pohare, Ex- English teacher, New English school, scrutinized the entries and also visited every participating school. Apart from this, KUL Foundation regularly arranges interactive knowledge sessions between teachers and students.

Over the last 15 years, more than 800 schools have been a part of KUL Foundation program which is organized with the objective of providing a road map for systematic development of students, teachers and parents in rural areas of Pune. These schools receive all the needy help from the foundation over a period of three years enabling them to establish them in a better and comprehensive manner.

KUL Foundation for Social Initiative was launched by Mr. Lalitkumar Jain, Chairman & MD, Kumar Urban Development Ltd (KUL) in the year 2000 as Adarsh Vidyamandir Yojana and later changed to Gunvatta Vikas Yojana. When the foundation was started, it received 20 applications from the schools in and around Pune region. Since then many schools with the help of preplanned and well engineered programs of the foundation have achieved many a milestones. The number has since been increasing and this year, over 68 schools have participated for this award. Since its inception the foundation has reached out to over 65000 students under its program.

This project was started with the sole purpose of education as a core social cause, and a pure intention of promoting education in the rural areas of Maharashtra and uplifting the standard of students in the rural areas by conducting various activities. Today the foundation is known as KUL Foundation for Social Initiative.